Need More Info?
Tennessee Professional Soil Scientists Licensing Program
A soil scientist is a professional licensed in the practice of soil science, which is the study of soil as a natural resource on the surface of the Earth including soil formation, classification and mapping; physical, chemical, biological, and fertility properties of soils; and these properties in relation to the use and management of soils.
To be eligible for a certificate of licensure as a professional soil scientist, an applicant shall:
(1) Be a graduate of an accredited college or university with a bachelor of science degree or higher in soils, agronomy or a closely related field, with successfully completion of 15 hours of course work in soil science;
(2) Have at least 3 years of soil science professional experience. Any combination of the following kinds of education and experience qualify toward accumulating the required 3 years:
(A) Masters of science degree in soils, agronomy or a closely related field and 2 years professional experience;
(B) Doctor of philosophy degree in soils, agronomy or a closely related field and 1 year professional experience; or
(C) Each year of teaching or soil science research by persons teaching upper-level soil science courses at the college level; provided, that teaching or research can be demonstrated to be of a sufficiently responsible nature to be equivalent to a year of professional experience; and
(3) Have successfully passed the examinations.
Application and Initial License: $400
Renewal Fee for Active License: $400
Renewal Fee for Inactive License: $200
Inactive to Retirement Status: $25
Reinstatement to Active Status: $25
Late Renewal Penalty: $25
Duplicate License: $25
You are required to submit the following with your application to practice as Professional Soil Scientist in Tennessee:
1. A $400 application/licensure fee
2. A certified copy of college transcripts, along with a course reporting form
3. Current employment information
4. Sole proprietorships, partnerships and corporations form
5. Out of state verification of licensure/examination form if licensed in another state